I guess I already angered someone on the interwebs.

This is an Open Letter, because some people like to parade their ignorance, small-mindedness, and egomaniac attitudes for the world to see.

Someone on Tumblr reblogged my James Joyce letter and then added this comment with it.  Looking at their site, I found out that they are really into James Joyce.  First thing’s first: I did not mean to upset anyone.  The thing about literature is that everyone can interpret it differently.  And because I do not share the same opinions about the first 62 pages of a certain book, I am small-minded and ignorant.

I guess before anyone else reads anything else I write, I should state that this blog is a work of satire.  Do I really want to throw this book out the window?  No.  At this moment, I say I do, but I would never actually do that to a book, whether I like it or not.  And, I am going to finish it.  Just not any time soon.

I kind of feel special for writing something that angered someone enough to be harsh about my literary opinions, but at the same time I am sad for them.  Because they are making a snap judgement on me as a person because of a 700 word comedic blog post.

 

 

5 thoughts on “I guess I already angered someone on the interwebs.

  1. Yep, this is pretty much the exact reaction I got when I posted that I struggled with it. How about some encouragement, people? Is that so hard?

  2. People need to let people have opinions. I love having a discussions with people when they don’t agree, but there’s no need to be rude! Rudeness is so not cool.

    Ulysses is hard work!! I’ve not actually read it, but I’ve looked at extracts in various classes.

    Let the haters hate xD

Leave a Reply

